GUIDE 10 / 10
Best restaurant management software: the 2026 comparison
Twelve restaurant management tools compared on what each vendor publishes itself: what the tool covers, its prices, the POS systems it connects, multi-site management. Checked on 3 November 2026, with no ranking and no score. This comparison is written by the Enskel team, and Enskel appears in it against the same criteria, limits included.
“Best” depends on your business
There is no best restaurant management software in absolute terms. An independent restaurant, a group of a few sites and a franchise network are not looking for the same tool: the first wants to keep its stock and rota under control without spending its evenings on them, the second to compare its sites, the third to give head office a shared reading without taking control away from franchisees.
Tools fall into four families, which overlap. The POS takes payments and orders, and often tracks stock. The back-office handles purchasing, stock, recipe costing and margins. Scheduling handles teams, time clocking and often payroll. HACCP records temperature checks, cleaning and traceability. A tool often covers several families, rarely all of them.
So this comparison ranks no one. For each tool, it takes what the vendor states on its own website, checked on 3 November 2026 and cited in the sources at the bottom of the page. Information missing from the vendor’s site is marked “not published”. The method for choosing between several tools is in our guide choosing restaurant management software.
The comparison in one table
| Software | Category | What the vendor states | Published price | Several sites |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koust | Back-office | Purchasing and supplier orders, stock and stock counts, recipe costing, margins; hygiene as an option; sales forecasting in the Entreprise plan | €80, €130 or €180 per month per site, billed annually (excl. or incl. VAT not stated) | Yes |
| inpulse | Back-office | Sales forecasting and ordering, stock and stock counts, production, recipe costing, invoices | Not published | Yes, main target |
| Melba | Back-office | Recipe costing and profitability, stock and ordering, production, hygiene and traceability | €49 or €99 excl. VAT per month per module; three modules for €99 per month | Yes, with central kitchen |
| Komia | Back-office, scheduling, HACCP | Scheduling, time clocking and payroll variables; HACCP; stock, ordering and recipe costing | Not published | Yes, in the Trio plan |
| Skello | Scheduling | Scheduling, working time and time clock, payroll preparation | From €59 to €129 per month depending on the plan (excl. or incl. VAT not stated) | Not published |
| Combo | Scheduling | Scheduling, leave, time clock, payroll | From €68 or €89 per site per month, depending on the plan | Not published |
| Traqfood | HACCP | Traceability, temperatures, cleaning plan, use-by labels | €19.99 excl. VAT per month for one outlet, €39.99 excl. VAT for the multi-site plan (billed annually) | Yes |
| Octopus HACCP | HACCP | Traceability, temperatures and sensors, cleaning plan | From €55 per month, at least five modules | Yes |
| Lightspeed Restaurant | POS | POS, kitchen screens, table and online ordering, stock and recipe cards | €89, €159 or €249 per month, with the Lightspeed Payments terminal | Yes |
| Popina | POS | iPad POS, order taking, stock, accounting export, loyalty | €52 excl. VAT per month (Basic Pack, without hardware); other plans on quotation | Mentioned |
| Zelty | POS | POS, online ordering, deliveries, kiosks, stock, multi-site management | Not published | Yes |
| Enskel | Back-office, scheduling, HACCP | Sales forecasting, stock, recipe costing, scheduling, HACCP checks, margins | Forecast €100, Operations €35, HACCP €15, excl. VAT per site per month | Yes |
Prices cannot be compared line by line: some charge per site, others per module, per employee or per POS, and several pages do not say whether VAT is included. Before signing, ask for the full cost for your sites over three years, including commitment and hardware.
Connected POS systems
A management tool that is not a POS starts from your POS sales. If your POS is not connected, everything else has to be re-entered. It is the first question to ask, before any demo.
| Software | Connected POS systems, according to the vendor |
|---|---|
| Koust | 46 POS systems listed, including L’Addition, Lightspeed, Popina, Zelty, Tiller, Square and Innovorder |
| inpulse | 38 POS systems listed, including L’Addition, Lightspeed, Popina, Zelty, Square and Innovorder |
| Skello | 43 POS systems listed, including L’Addition, Lightspeed, Popina, Zelty, Tiller and Square |
| Komia | Six POS systems named (Shopcaisse, L’Addition, Innovorder, Zelty, Square, Trivec), others shown as logos |
| Combo | Integration stated; no list published as text |
| Melba | Synchronisation stated; no list published |
| Traqfood, Octopus HACCP | No POS mentioned |
| Enskel | Popina; for another POS, the connection is assessed with you |
Enskel currently connects a single POS, Popina. That is its main limit compared with Koust, inpulse or Skello, which list several dozen. The data imported is detailed on the integrations page.
The tools, one by one
Koust, founded in Brest, covers purchasing, stock, recipe costing and margins, with hygiene as an option. It targets independent restaurants, chains and franchises, and hotels. Its prices are published per site; sales forecasting is only in the most expensive plan.
inpulse, based in Saint-Mandé, is aimed first at multi-site groups and franchises: sales forecasting, ordering, stock, production. Its three plans show no prices. Its website announces that it has joined the Mapal group.
Melba, published by FoodMeUp in Paris, starts from recipes and recipe costing, with stock, production and traceability. It also targets central kitchens, caterers and bakers. Its prices are published per module.
Komia brings together three modules: scheduling and payroll variables, HACCP, stock and recipe costing. Its Solo, Duo and Trio plans show no prices.
Skello and Combo, both in Paris, are scheduling and HR tools: rotas, time clocking, absences, payroll. Their websites state neither stock nor HACCP. Their prices are published, as a starting amount per month.
Traqfood, based in Cergy and developed by Mérieux NutriSciences, and Octopus HACCP are HACCP apps: temperature checks, traceability, cleaning plan. Traqfood publishes its prices excl. VAT; Octopus gives a starting price and a configurator.
Lightspeed Restaurant, Popina and Zelty are POS systems that also track stock. Lightspeed and Popina publish starting prices; Zelty points to a demo. A POS does not replace a full back-office: none of the three states sales forecasting or HACCP checks on its website.
Enskel starts from the POS sales to forecast each service’s footfall, then derives orders, the rota and the margin from it, site by site, with HACCP checks as a separate brick. Its prices are published per site. For a group, see Enskel for multi-site groups.
How much restaurant management software costs
Based on published prices, restaurant management software costs from under €20 to nearly €250 per month, depending on the tool and the pricing unit. Three vendors out of twelve publish no amount. The gaps come mostly from the unit: a per-module price adds up, a per-employee price grows with the team, a POS price often depends on the payment terminal.
Trials differ too: 14 days at Koust, Skello and Octopus HACCP, 30 days at Traqfood. At Enskel, one pilot site is free for three months, excluding HACCP. Enskel’s full cost is calculated on the Pricing page, for the number of sites you choose.
Where Enskel stands, and its limits
Enskel brings sales forecasting, stock, recipe costing, scheduling, HACCP checks and margins into one system: each service’s forecast feeds ordering and the rota, and the margin is read site by site. Head office sees the group, each site sees its own.
Its limits, worth knowing before you choose: Enskel is not a POS; it currently connects only Popina; time clocking and payroll are not among its six modules; the HACCP module is not part of the pilot offer; and it helps track checks without guaranteeing HACCP compliance.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best restaurant management software? The one that best prepares your most costly decisions, with your data and your POS, for a full cost known in advance. For a single site, simplicity and the link with the POS come first; for a group, reading site by site matters too.
Do you need one tool for everything? Not necessarily. A business can combine a POS, a scheduling tool and a back-office tool. What matters is that sales flow from one to the other without re-entry.
Is a POS enough to run a restaurant? For taking payments and tracking stock, often. For forecasting footfall, setting the rota and keeping HACCP checks, the three POS systems in this comparison do not state these functions on their websites.
Are the displayed prices excluding VAT? Not always stated: Melba, Traqfood, Popina and Enskel say excl. VAT; Koust, Skello, Combo, Octopus HACCP and Lightspeed do not say on their pricing page.
Is this comparison up to date? It reflects the vendors’ pages as of 3 November 2026. Offers change: check the price and scope on the vendor’s page, cited in the sources, before deciding.
Sources
- Koust, “Tarifs” (checked on 03/11/2026) koust.net
- Koust, “Marketplace”: integrated POS systems (checked on 03/11/2026) koust.net
- inpulse, “Tarifs” (checked on 03/11/2026) www.inpulse.ai
- inpulse, “Intégrations” (checked on 03/11/2026) www.inpulse.ai
- Melba, “Tarifs” (checked on 03/11/2026) melba.io
- Komia, “Offres” (checked on 03/11/2026) komia.io
- Komia, “Intégrations” (checked on 03/11/2026) komia.io
- Skello, “Tarifs” (checked on 03/11/2026) www.skello.io
- Skello, “Intégrations et partenaires” (checked on 03/11/2026) www.skello.io
- Combo, “Nos offres” (checked on 03/11/2026) combohr.com
- Traqfood, home page and prices (checked on 03/11/2026) www.traqfood.com
- Octopus HACCP, “Tarifs” (checked on 03/11/2026) octopus-haccp.com
- Lightspeed, “Tarifs caisse restaurant” (checked on 03/11/2026) www.lightspeedhq.fr
- Popina, “Offres” (checked on 03/11/2026) www.popina.com
- Zelty, home page (checked on 03/11/2026) www.zelty.fr